~THE ARTIST~BIOGRAPHYPHILOSOPHYPRESS
BIOGRAPHY

I was born in New Orleans, LA in 1945. My mother was from that unique city and her first three children were born there. My Bostonian father was a Naval aviator, often at sea for several months, so the first few years of my life were spent off and on in my grandparent’s home near Audubon Park. Due to Naval life, I spent each of my early years in a different East coast or southern school, moving nearly every twelve months. Because of this quasi-nomadic life, my parents bought an old farmhouse in the pinewoods of Cape Cod to offer some summer stability for their four children. Later we moved to the village of Siasconset on Nantucket Island. My early connection to nature came from spending summers in these two places in Massachusetts. When I was fifteen the family moved to Neauphle-le-chateau, a small town outside of Paris. I attended the American School of Paris for two years where I was introduced to my favorite subjects: art history and language. During this period, our family traveled extensively throughout Western Europe. In 1967 I graduated with a B.A. in painting from Connecticut College. While at college I met my future husband Joel who was a student at Wesleyan University. We were married in 1967. In 1970 we went to Florence, Italy where Joel was doing research for his dissertation. This two-year period established the beginning of a life-long love of Italy and its people and art. Our first daughter Lisa was born there in 1972. Shortly thereafter my husband was offered a job at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. Our second daughter Laura was born in 1973. We spent many years enjoying the incredible beauty of the Northwest coast, becoming avid ocean kayakers and gardeners. In 1980 we returned to Florence where Joel was a Fellow at Villa I Tatti, the Harvard Center for Italian Renaissance Studies. We lived in a stone farmhouse north of Fiesole with Vanda Scaravelli, a most extraordinary woman. She taught the girls classical piano and they attended the Martinot Art School in Florence where they learned traditional methods of painting and sculpture. Meanwhile I was home schooling the girls; this and a large vegetable garden took up most of my time during those five wonderful years in Tuscany. In 1985 we moved back to Vancouver. It was during this period that I started weaving baskets seriously and collaborating with Native artists. These were years of intense learning and experimentation. Eight years later we moved to Santa Fe, NM. Since then both daughters have attended art and design colleges and now are pursuing careers in the arts. These days I devote myself fully to making fine baskets and Joel contributes to this venture with his woodworking and conceptual skills.


THE GALLERY THE WORK THE ARTIST